Cyber Physical Computing

Department of Computer Science

The University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign











Why Join Us?


For prospective students:

Research assistantships are available for motivated students who want to shape the way humans and machines will interact with their physical environment in the foreseeable future. If you would like to get involved, please see contact info.




Tarek F. Abdelzaher

Department. of Computer Science

University of Illinois

201 N. Goodwin Ave

Urbana, IL 61801


Tel: (217) 265-6793




Research Themes

A versatile collection of new research directions are started in this group, ranging from Social Sensing, Sensor Networks, and applications of the Future Internet to Green Computing and performance optimization in Data Centers. They share one fundamental premise: tomorrow, computing will be much more integrated with the physical and social environment. Computing systems will interact with physical ones in time, space, energy, and performance dimensions. Humans will be an important part of the overall computing system. The new interactions will require new theory, design tools, development paradigms, and run-time support to handle challenges of distributed sensing, privacy, information distillation, control, robustness, system troubleshooting, energy, and sustainability, among others.


·      (8/2010) The Future Internet Architecture project is in the news

·      (4/2010) Qing Cao and Dong Wang win RTAS 2010 Best Paper Award

·      (1/2010) Tarek Abdelzaher is named Willett Scholar

·      (11/2009) GreenGPS is in the news

·      (9/2009) Raghu Ganti is announced a Siebel Scholar

·      (7/2009) Praveen Jayachandran wins ECRTS 2009 Best Paper Award

·      (5/2009) Tarek Abdelzaher becomes Program Chair of ICAC 2011

·      (7/2008) Crossbow article features Smart Attire

·      (6/2008) Microsoft funds Abdelzaher’s mPlatform research

·      (5/2008) Praveen wins the C. L. (Dave) and Jane Liu award

·      (4/2008) Tarek Abdelzaher becomes Program Chair of ICDCS 2010

·      (7/2007) Tarek Abdelzaher becomes General Chair of Sensys 2008

·      (7/2007) Crossbow article features LiteOS

·      (7/2007) Praveen Jayachandran wins ECRTS 2007 Best Paper Award

·      (6/2007) Tarek Abdelzaher joins IPSN Steering Committee

·      (5/2007) Qing Cao and Praveen Jayachandran win Vodafone Fellowship

·      (4/2007) Motorola donates equipment to Abdelzaher’s lab for smart phone research

·      (4/2007) Microsoft funds Abdelzaher and Ward’s Action Web (see press release)

·      (2/2007) Tarek Abdelzaher joins IEEE TC-RTS Executive Committee

·      (11/2006) Tarek Abdelzaher joins the Editorial Board of IEEE TPDS

·      (6/2006) Liqian Luo is awarded the title of UIUC Distinguished Graduate Student for 2006

·      (3/2006) Tarek Abdelzaher becomes General Chair of IPSN 2007

·      (12/2005) Tarek Abdelzaher becomes Program Chair of RTSS 2006

·      (11/2005) Tarek Abdelzaher joins Editorial Board of ACM ToSN

·      (10/2005) Tarek Abdelzaher joins Editorial Board of IEEE TMC

·      (6/2005) Tarek Abdelzaher is elected Editor in Chief of the Real-Time Systems Journal


Current Projects: These projects investigate software interactions with both physical and social context in the following dimensions:



Feasible Region Calculus,


Space and Distribution:

Sensor Networks,

Future Internet Architecture,

South Farms,


Data Quality:

Data Fusion,



GreenGPS and Testbed,

Green Datacenters,



Software Predictability


Other Projects:




Smart Attire,


Environmentally Immersive Programming,


Group meeting:

Thursdays 4pm.


Mission: Exploration of the computer science frontier at the intersection of logical, physical, and social realms… (read more)


Picture Gallery: and exploration is always exciting! (see more)


GreenGPS Video:

Click here (best viewed at 300kbps link)


Smart Attire Video:

Click here (best viewed at 250kbps link)


Related Classes:


(CS 598TAR) Sensor Networks: Offered in the Fall on odd-numbered years.


(CS 424) Real-time Systems: Offered in the Spring.